words can’t express

my lovely, lovely, lovely friend

my lovely, lovely, lovely friend

this is my friend, zoltan tolnai.

he died two days ago. from cancer. i want to get that out of the way first because that is not what i want to talk about.

he was A WONDERFUL MAN.

i used to talk a bit (i believe it was on the porch), about how i was involved with a psychedelic-trance community in ottawa while i lived there. that’s how i met zoltan – MY GOD what a phenomenal dj he was. he was like this (bigger than) gnome-like man…something magical and wise around his eyes, and his big grin. it probably helped a little that he had a hungarian accent and was a bit older than most of us.

the way our community worked for me (because it was huge) is that, you’d be friends with a group of people, and sloooowly start hearing someone’s name. you’d think to yourself, “i think i need to meet this person. that is what the universe is telling me.”
then you’d meet them. and the serendipity would be amazing…

that’s what happened with z and me. i LOVED his sets, freaked out about them, and then i met the man (honestly i couldn’t believe that he lived in ottawa). soon, he would search me out on the dance floor.
“why aren’t you dancing? i love when you dance.” 
or
“you make me so happy when you smile. you should smile more.”

i mean, this guy once BOUGHT ME A TICKET to an out-of-town festival, found me walking down a downtown street in the car that he was riding in, told me he’d bought me the ticket, and convinced me to hook up with all my friends when i was sure i was going to be working that weekend.

no ego. all heart. all sweet smiles and good times.

and i can’t believe he’s gone. i can’t believe he almost didn’t TELL anyone that he was going into the hospital for what turned out to be the last time.
i’m so glad the notice went out (on facebook! lol) and he wasn’t alone when he crossed over.

some day, my friend, i will write you the memorial you so deserve. because you deserve some mad, magical poetry, and not just something that is bred from my raw heartstrings. you deserve a composition. but for now, i have to get back to my essay writing…which i know you’d want me to do. i have to keep living.

but the hole where you used to be really hurts.
i’m so sorry i didn’t get a chance to get down there. it had been too long.
i miss you and i love you.

love your butterfly

~ by bee on November 19, 2008.

14 Responses to “words can’t express”

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry.

  2. I’m sorry to hear about this loss. He sounds like an amazing being.

  3. i’m so sorry, bee.

  4. i am so sorry honey, warm hug

  5. thank you so much, you guys. i appreciate it.

  6. Oh my friend, my heart aches for you. I send a warm hug and a cup of hot chocolate your way.

  7. You wrote this with so much love … I’m so sorry this lovely man is gone.

    Peace,
    JP/deb

  8. I’m so sorry he has gone, but the way you speak of him is beautiful and though I know you wnat to wrote soemthing you consider better, this has made me have great admiration for a man I will never meet. It is beautiful.

  9. i am so sorry dear girl.
    sending you peace and love today…

  10. Ohhh ((((hugging you bee)))) What beautiful words for such an amazing man.

    ‘A heart is not judged by how much you love, but by how much you are loved by others.”
    ….The Wizard to the Tin Man

  11. Aww shit. I’m am sorry, bee. I know it is hard to lose someone with so much Light.

    ((hug)) 🙂

  12. just came across this while looking for a pic of Zoltan. I saw him the friday night before it happened. Was putting my coat on monday to see him at the hospital when the call came in… too late. I still have sitting in my room a consumed GatoNegro he got me for my birthday end of oct. I refuse to throw it out.

    Here’s a link for one of his mixes that will be aired in around a week. http://www.di.fm/calendar/event.php?event=11542

    Bee – not sure if I know you or not but drop me a line anyway. mimsey@gmail.com

  13. I know. I know how that feels. Exactly. And I am sending you so much love and support –

    LOVE to YOU
    xoox

  14. […] 20th was my friend zoltan’s memorial psy-trance party in ottawa. i of course couldn’t miss that, but i also […]

Leave a comment